Southern Discourse

AlabamaFloridaGeorgiaKentuckyMississippiNorth CarolinaSouth CarolinaTennesseeVirginia

est. 1981
southeastern writing center association
SWCA - 2014
Webmaster: Shanti Bruce

New Editorial Team!
Dr. Sara Littlejohn is the Director of the University Writing Center at University of North Carolina Greensboro and has been working with writing centers since 2001. Her research interests include digital language and literacy, terrestrial and online writing center theory, and composition theory.

Associate Editor
Jennifer Whitaker is Associate Director of the University Writing Center and an Academic Professional faculty member of the English Department at the University of North Carolina at Greensboro. She has a decade of experience in writing center work and is an assistant poetry editor for storySouth and a contributing editor for the poetry journal Cave Wall. She holds an MFA in poetry from the University of North Carolina at Greensboro and has published poetry and reviews in a variety of journals, including Beloit Poetry Journal, New England Review, Mid-American Review and New Orleans Review

Assistant Editor
Sunny Townes Stewart is a graduate student at UNC Greensboro, where she is pursuing a Master's in Historic Preservation and works as a graduate assistant in the UNCG Writing Center. Though she is new to writing center work, she has experience teaching as an adjunct instructor in history and has also worked as a journalist, editor, and public relations professional. 

Assistant Editor
Catherine Hawkins attends UNC Greensboro, where she is pursuing her MFA in fiction. Originally from Atlanta, GA, Catherine went to Colby College, in Waterville, ME, where she first worked as a consultant in Maine's largest writing center. Catherine continued her writing center work in graduate school, and she is sharing her experience collaborating with the editorial team.
The SWCA thanks Dr. Christine Cozzens for 25 years of service. 
Here is a sneak peek at her fantastic final issue of Southern Discourse

Rebecca Day Babcock, Univeristy of Texas
Cole Bennett, Abilene Christian University
Alan Benson, University of Wisconsin, Eau-Claire 
Tina A.M Carneige, Eastern Washington University
Pete Carino, Indiana State
Rusty Carpenter, Eastern Kentucky 
Ben Crosby, Iowa State
Harry Denny, St. Johns University
Sue Doe, Colorado State
Michele Eodice, The University of Oklahoma
Kristen Garrison, Midwestern State University
Anne Ellen Geller, St Johns University
Jenn Goddu, Queens University of Charlotte
Brandy Grabow, North Carolina State University 
Sherrie Gradin, Ohio University
Jackie Grutsch McKinney, Ball State
Muriel Harris, Purdue University
William Hart-Davidson, Michigan State
Emily J. Isaacs, Montclair State
Jesse Kavaldo, Maryville University 
Noreen Lape, Dickenson College
Sohui Lee, Stanford University
Nicole Munday, Salisbury University
Stephen Neiderheiser, Kent State University
Val Pexton, University of Wyoming
Tallin Phillips, Ohio University 
Stacey Pigg, University of Central Florida
Malea Powell, Michigan State
Holly Ryan, Penn State University
Daniel Sanford, University of New Mexico
Carol Severino, University of Iowa
David Sheridan, Michigan State
Mary Traschel, University of Iowa
Joana Wolfe, Carneige Mellon